User account administrators manage user accounts in SystemWeaver using the swAdmin2 application. The interface is described in The SystemWeaver Admin Utility Interface


Typically, those responsible for user accounts will also manage license keys


Note: The swAdmin2 client is the only means by which user account maintenance can be done.


Creating a New User Account

To add a new user account, click the Add User  icon. In the Create new user form, enter the following information: 

  • Name: Enter a unique username. Usernames are not case-sensitive. Required. 
  • Network id: Enter the user's network id that exists in your corporate Active Directory (AD). The user can then login without entering a password if they are already logged in to the corporate Active Directory. Optional. 
  • Real Name: Enter the user's first and last name. Recommended.
  • EMail: Enter the user's email address. Optional. 
  • Password: Enter the user's desired password in the two fields provided. You can also use the Generate option. Passwords are not stored in clear text. They are stored in hashed form for added security. If users are required to use Network id, they do not need to receive the password that is entered here, but a value does need to be entered in order to create the account.
  • Require password change at first login: Check to require a password change. The purpose of this setting is to minimize possible risks caused by passwords that have been sent via email to users. It also prevents users from saving their notification emails with generated passwords since these will be become obsolete. This option can also be used on-the-fly to force a user to change a password upon next login.
  • Active: This is checked by default as it is assumed the new account will be active. 

Click Create to create the account. 


Note: User accounts should only be assigned to single individuals, i.e., SystemWeaver user accounts should only be used by a single person and the password should only be known by him/her. This is to assure user accountability and to facilitate traceability when problems occur due to user operations.


Roles, Access Rights and Groups

Once the account is created and depending on your organization's work processes, you may need to assign a role to the new user, and/or add the user to specific libraries and groups.


Roles

If needed, the new user can be assigned a role to specify their access rights. In general, most users will not be assigned a role.


Access Rights via Libraries

Once a user account is created, you need to set access rights to the library or libraries where their work structures are located.


Groups

If the user should be part of any groups, add the user account to the groups as described in .


Searching for and Viewing User Accounts

The Find text box enables you to search for a user. It will search against the Login Name, Network id, Real Name and E-mail fields. The Filter button (available next to each column header) allows you to filter by null values, non-null values or a specific value: 



Click on a column header to sort by that column. An arrow icon will indicate if the sort is ascending or descending:



Editing an Existing User Account

To select an existing user account, double-click on its row:


The Edit user form will display and you can modify any information. The Generate button can be used to obtain a random password. Click Save to save your changes. 


Generating a User Account Report

To generate an Excel report of all user accounts, right-click on any row and select Export to Excel:



Deactivating a User Account

To deactivate an account (and not delete it), select the user entry and click the Edit User button (or double-click the entry). Uncheck the Active box and click Save


Batch Deactivate Accounts

To deactivate all activated user accounts, click Deactivate all. All accounts, with the exception of the "system" accounts required to run the server, will be deactivated. This option is useful when you want to run a server against a database that has a higher number of activated user accounts than the number of available user licenses. This may happen, for example, when copying a database from a production server to a test/QA server. A production installation has a higher license count than a test installation. Once all are deactivated, you can then reactivate those accounts that are needed.



Deleting a User Account

To delete an account from the server, click on its row and click the Delete User icon.


Note: You can only delete an account if the user has not performed any transactions in the database, i.e., has not modified an item or issue in any way. If they have, the account can never be deleted so as to maintain all references to the account for all tasks completed. Instead, the account should be deactivated.