User groups can be created in a SystemWeaver server as a means of more efficiently assigning access rights to items via libraries. The groups are managed using the swExplorer client.


It should be noted that these groups can be used for giving access rights to items and parts only and cannot be used to provide access rights to issues in Change Management projects. The Change Management solution includes a separate user group functionality applicable only to projects.


Prerequisites

  • You must be assigned the "Administrator" role in swAdmin2


Note: All system users have a read-only view of the Groups tab in swExplorer.


Navigate to File > Groups. A dialog will open with the Groups tab displayed.

Most group administration is done on the Groups tab. The Groups pane to the left will display all existing groups in the server. Anicon in the list of groups indicate that you are a member. A search box is available for filtering the list. The right-side pane displays the Name, optional Info and a list of the Users in group


The Users tab can be used to view all of the groups in which a selected user is a member. A search box is available for filtering the users list. 


Note: There is a system default group called “everyone” that includes all registered users. It cannot be deleted nor can you remove any members.


Creating a New Group

On the Groups tab, click the Add group button, enter a Name and click OK


The new group will display in the Groups list. You can now add members to the group


Deleting an Existing Group

On the Groups tab, select the group you want to delete and click Remove group. Confirm the delete by clicking OK.



Note: Removing a group does not affect any group members in any other way than to simply remove them from the selected group. A group does not have to be empty to be deleted and the group can have defined access to libraries and still be deleted.


Assigning a Group Admin

You can assign a member of a group to be a Group Admin. A Group Admin may add and remove users from the group without having the systemwide "Administrator" role.


Select the user, right-click and select Make group admin.


You can remove this right at any time by right-clicking on the user and selecting Remove group admin status


What's Next?

Find out how to add and remove users from groups.