This article describes how to deactivate and/or delete user accounts. User account administrators manage accounts in SystemWeaver using the swAdmin2 application. This client is the only means by which user account maintenance can be done. The interface is described in The SystemWeaver Admin Utility Interface



Note: You can only delete an account if the user has not performed any transactions in the database, i.e., has not modified an item or issue in any way. This includes creating an item and owning an item. If they have, the account can never be deleted so as to maintain all references to the account for all tasks completed. Instead, the account should be deactivated.

Deactivating a User Account

To deactivate one account (and not delete it), select the user entry and click the Edit User button (or double-click the entry). Uncheck the Active box and click Save



Batch Deactivating Accounts

To deactivate ALL activated user accounts, click Deactivate all. All accounts, with the exception of the "system" accounts required to run the server, will be deactivated. This option is useful when you want to run a server against a database that has a higher number of activated user accounts than the number of available user licenses. This may happen, for example, when copying a database from a production server to a test/QA server. A production installation has a higher license count than a test installation. Once all are deactivated, you can then reactivate those accounts that are needed.



Removing Access to CMS Projects

If the user(s) whose account(s) you are deactivating also has access to one or more CMS project(s), you will need to remove them from the project(s) if you no longer want them listed as a member. Note that since their user account is deactivated, they have no access to the system nor to the project so it is strictly for clean-up purposes. 


Deleting a User Account

To delete an account from the server, click on its row and click the Delete User icon.

 There is no confirmation dialog. The account will be immediately deleted.