Account administrators can manage user accounts in SystemWeaver using the swAdmin2 application. This article describes how to deactivate and/or delete user accounts. This client is the only means by which user account maintenance can be done.
|You can only delete an account if the user has not performed any transactions in the database, i.e., has not modified an item or issue in any way. This includes creating an item and owning an item. If they have, the account can never be deleted so as to maintain all references to the account for all tasks completed. Instead, the account should be deactivated.|
Deactivating a User Account
To deactivate one account (and not delete it), select the user entry and click the Edit User button (or double-click the entry). Change Status to Disabled, and click Save.
Batch Deactivating All Accounts
To deactivate ALL activated user accounts, click Deactivate all. All accounts, with the exception of the "system" accounts required to run the server, will be deactivated. This option is useful when you want to run a server against a database that has a higher number of activated user accounts than the number of available user licenses. This may happen, for example, when copying a database from a production server to a test/QA server. A production installation has a higher license count than a test installation. Once all are deactivated, you can then reactivate those accounts that are needed.
Removing Access to CMS Projects
If the user(s) whose account(s) you are deactivating also has access to one or more CMS project(s), you will need to remove them from the project(s) if you no longer want them listed as a member. Note that since their user account is deactivated, they have no access to the system nor to the project so it is strictly for clean-up purposes.
Deleting a User Account
To delete an account from the server, click on its row and click the Delete User icon.
There is no confirmation dialog. The account will be immediately deleted.