Whether you have just created a new project or are administering an existing one, you may want to create user groups in the project so that you can assign issues to a group of users. When you create a group, you are creating it for the selected project only. The use of groups in projects is optional. This article describes how to administer project user groups.


Prerequisites

  • You must have "Change" access rights to the CMS project OR the Administrator role in the server.  


Project user groups are administered under the Project menu in the Groups view. The view lists all groups defined in the project and their members. In the below example, there are 3 groups. The "Component owners" group is selected so its members are viewable to the right. 



Creating a Group

  1. To create a group, click Add Group...
  2. Enter a name for the new group and click OK. The group will appear in the Groups list and issues can now be Assigned To the group as shown below. 



Tip: You can change the name of a group at any time.

Adding Users to a Group

  1. To add users to an existing group, select the group in the Groups list and click Add User....
  2. In the Select User(s) dialog, select the user(s) you want to add to the group and click OK. The users will appear in the Members list to the right.



Missing users in the Select User(s) dialog? Only users who have been given individual access to the project and whose account is active can be added to a project group. If you are not finding a user in the pick list, it is either because their user account is inactive or they have not been given access to the project. To determine if their account is disabled, you can check the Include inactive users box at the bottom of the dialog to see if they then appear in the list. If so, their account needs to be activated before you can add them to the group.

Removing Users from a Group

  1. To remove users from a project group, first select the group in the Groups list. 
  2. Then, find their name in the Members list to the right. 
  3. Select the entry and click Remove User. The user is no longer a member of the group. 



Note: Users removed from all groups in a project will still have access rights to the project as an individual unless you remove those as well via the Users view after removing them from their group(s).

Deleting a Group

  1. If you want to delete an existing user group, select the group in the Groups list and click Remove Group

Note: Members of the deleted project group will still have access rights to the project as individuals unless you remove those as well via the Users view after removing the group.

Things to Remember

CMS project groups are not to be confused with user groups created for assignment of item access rights. They are independent of each other. It is possible, however, to give project access rights to all members of a user group used for item access, as a means of "batch" adding users to the project. Note though that issues in the project can only be assigned to the individual members of such a group and not to the group as a whole as can be done with a project user group. You can read more about assigning issues in How to Assign an Issue.