With version R38 or later, a license property called Default determines whether or not a license is designated as the default license for a server installation. A server installation can have only one default license. A default license key results in all users being assigned automatically to that license key. 


If a server installation has more than one license key, Administrators can, at any time, change which license key, if any, is the default license for a server installation. This article describes how to do this. 


Prerequisites


In the list of License keys, a checkmark in the Default license column indicates that the license is the default license for the server installation noted in the Server name column.



Default designation is also indicated with the word "Default" in the License drop-down in Users profiles. 



From Default to Non-Default

You can remove the default designation from a license if you would prefer to manually assign users to license(s). 


To change a default license to a non-default license, uncheck Default license. The Confirm change of default license dialog will indicate your request and inform how many users currently assigned to that license will now be unassigned. In the below example, 2 Read/Write users will be unassigned from the license.



Click Yes to proceed or No to cancel.


Clicking Yes will unassign all users from the license resulting in unchecking Default license, and indicating 0 Activated users on the license:



Note: If no license is designated as the Default for the server installation, users must be manually assigned to a license to be able to log in.

From Non-Default to Default

You can designate a license as the default license for a server installation if you would like all (or most) users to be assigned to that license. 


To change a non-default license to a default license, check Default license. The Confirm change of default license dialog will indicate your request and inform how activated users will be assigned to the license. It will also indicate how many remaining licenses will be available on the license after the operation is completed.



Click Yes to proceed or No to cancel.


Clicking Yes will assign any users currently assigned to a default license to the new default. Those that are NOT currently assigned to a default license, will not be assigned to the new default.


What's Next?

Learn more about Managing User License Assignments.